Slateman Triathlon Day 1 report

The first wave emerges from Padarn. Photo by LIGHT TRAPPER PHOTOGRAPHY

Saturday morning got off to a rocky start as high winds and relentless rain battered Llanberis overnight – and it didn’t get any better as the first waves of the Sprint race entered the tepid waters of Llyn Padarn.


The weather did little to dampen the spirits of the thousands of spectators who lined the spectacular route which was based in on the shores of Llyn Padarn in Llanberis.


As the morning’s action progressed the weather improved hugely, just in time for the first finishers to cross the line.


Ross MacDonald and Rhian Roxburgh emerged as individual winners of the men and women Slateman Tri Sprint after storming around the course in a time of 01.14.36 and 01.20.28 respectively.


The sprint in Llanberis consisted a 400m Padarn lake swim, 20km bike leg – which took in the immense climb that is the Llanberis Pass on a completely closed road – and a scenic, but demanding, 6km trail run in the quarries above the race village, Ross was pushed all the way by Grant Bateman, but Ross went on to win by just under 2.


Second place went to Grant Bateman, with Paul Savage claiming third.


Rhian Roxburgh produced a scintillating performance to finish in first place ahead of Ruth Purbrook and Sarah Vickers who finished second and third place respectively.


The Mini-Sprint was won by Hannah Bryant of Exmoor Triathlon Club with a very respectable time of 00.49.44.


Saturday’s action has certainly set expectations very high for the Slateman Full on Sunday!


Slateman Triathlon 2016 sprint results


Top 3 Men

1st        – Ross MacDonald     – 01.14.36
2nd       – Grant Bateman        – 01.16.08
3rd       – Paul Savage              – 01.16.36


Top 3 Women

1st        – Rhian Roxburgh      – 01.20.28
2nd              – Ruth Purbrook        – 01.23.45
3rd       – Sarah Vickers          – 01.26.52

Slateman Triathlon 2016 mini-sprint results


Top 3 Men/Women

1st        – Hannah Bryant        – 00.49.44
2nd       – Toby Hill                  – 00.52.50
3rd       – Fran Virden             – 01.16.55